New England Review welcomes submissions in fiction, poetry, nonfiction, drama, translation, creative writing for the web site (NER Digital), cover art, and art for our website. 

For translations, please confirm that translation rights are available. We only accept writing that has not been published previously, whether in print or on the web. Please send only one submission at a time per genre.

Poetry and Prose: Sept. 1 to Nov. 30 and March 1 to May 31
NER Digital: Varies, see below
Artwork: Year-round

Simultaneous submissions are accepted in all genres, but please be sure to withdraw your submission immediately upon acceptance elsewhere. Send only one submission at a time per genre. We attempt to respond to submissions within twelve weeks.

We welcome and encourage submissions from writers of every nationality, race, religion, and gender, including writers who have never been affiliated with an MFA program and whose perspectives are often underrepresented in the literary world.

Your cover letter should state the genre and title(s) of the submission, as well as anything else you would like the  editors to know about you or your work. A pitch for the work, or an interpretation of its themes, is unnecessary and discouraged.

Please see our website for details.



SUBSCRIBE today, and waive your submission fees for the year!

Ends on November 30, 2018$2.00
$2.00

We are looking for long and short poems, including translations. Please send no more than six poems at once, uploaded as a single file. We accept simultaneous submissions in poetry, but please be sure to withdraw the submission if it is accepted elsewhere. If you need to withdraw one or more poems, but not the entire submission, please add a note to your submission. For translations, please confirm that translation rights are available.

If you are a current subscriber, you may submit under the category Poetry – Subscriber at no cost. If you'd like to subscribe, you may do so here:

http://www.nereview.com/subscribe/




Ends on November 30, 2018

We waive the online submission fee to current subscribers to NER in gratitude for their support and readership. If you are unsure of your subscription status, or if you subscribe under a different name, please contact us at nereview@middlebury.edu. 

If you are not a New England Review subscriber, please submit under the category Poetry (not Poetry - Subscriber).

We are looking for long and short poems, including translations. Please send no more than six poems at once, uploaded as a single file. We accept simultaneous submissions in poetry, but please be sure to withdraw the submission if it is accepted elsewhere. If you need to withdraw one or more poems, but not the entire submission, please add a note to your submission. For translations, please confirm that translation rights are available.



Ends on November 30, 2018$3.00
$3.00

We are looking for short stories, short shorts, novellas, novel excerpts (that stand alone), and translations (please confirm that translation rights are available). Our limit is 20,000 words. We attempt to respond to all prose submissions within twelve weeks. 

Please send only one piece at a time, unless the pieces are under 1,000 words. We will consider submissions that have been offered simultaneously to other publications, as long as you make it clear that it is a simultaneous submission and withdraw your submission immediately upon acceptance elsewhere.  

If you are a current subscriber, you may submit fee-free through the category Fiction-Subscriber. If you'd like to subscribe, please go to the NER website.

Ends on November 30, 2018

We will waive the online submission fee to current subscribers to NER in print, in gratitude for their support and readership. If you are unsure of your subscription status, if if you subscribe under a different name, please send us an email at nereview@middlebury.edu and we'll get back to you ASAP. If you are not a New England Review subscriber, please submit under the category Fiction (not Fiction - Subscriber).
 

We are looking for short stories, short shorts, novellas, novel excerpts (that stand alone), and translations. For translations, please confirm that translation rights are available. The word limit is 20,000. Please send only one piece at a time, unless the pieces are very short (under 1,000 words). We will consider submissions that have been offered simultaneously to other publications, as long as you make it clear that it is a simultaneous submission and withdraw your submission immediately upon acceptance elsewhere. We attempt to respond to all prose submissions within twelve weeks, though we are not always able to do so.



Ends on November 30, 2018$3.00
$3.00

We are looking for a broad range of nonfiction, as well as screenplays, dramatic works, and works in translation. For translations, please confirm that translation right are available. Among the types of nonfiction NER publishes are interpretive and personal essays, critical reassessments, cultural criticism (art, film, etc.), “Letters from Abroad,” and “Letters from American Places.” The word limit is 20,000.

If you are a current subscriber, you may submit under the category Nonfiction – Subscriber. If you'd like to subscribe, please go to the NER website.


We will waive the online submission fee to current subscribers to NER in print, in gratitude for their support and readership. If you are unsure of your subscription status, or if you subscribe under a different name, please send us an email at nereview@middlebury.edu and we'll get back to you ASAP. If you are not a New England Review subscriber, please submit under the category Nonfiction (not Nonfiction - Subscriber).

We are looking for a broad range of nonfiction, as well as screenplays, dramatic works, and works in translation. For translations, please confirm that translation right are available. Among the types of nonfiction NER publishes are interpretive and personal essays, critical reassessments, cultural criticism (art, film, etc.), “Letters from Abroad,” and “Letters from American Places.” The word limit is 20,000.



Ends on November 30, 2018$2.00
$2.00

NER Digital is New England Review’s online project dedicated to  original creative writing for the web.

Our series “Confluences” presents writers’ responses to other works of  art in any media. We are seeking brief essays, 500 to 1000 words, in  response to a book, play, poem, film, painting, sculpture, building, or  other work of art. Put yourself in the picture and fashion your essay  around an actual autobiographical encounter with—but most importantly, your emotional response to—this work of art. 

Along  with your submission, include a one-line writers’ bio and your current  mailing address. Please also submit an image of or link to the artwork  you are discussing. (Please note that the artwork will only be  reproduced on our website if we are able to secure permission from the  copyright holder.)

The fee for submission to NER Digital is $2.00; it's free to subscribers. If your work is accepted for publication, you will receive payment of $50, and a one-year subscription (or renewal) to NER.

NER Digital is New England Review’s online project dedicated to original creative writing for the web. We will waive the online submission fee to current print subscribers, in gratitude for their support and readership. If you are unsure of your subscription status, or if you subscribe under a different name, please send us an email at nereview@middlebury.edu. If you are not a New England Review subscriber, please submit under the category NER Digital (not NER Digital - Subscriber).

Our series “Confluences” presents writers’ responses to other works of art in any media. We are seeking brief essays, 500 to 1000 words, in response to a book, play, poem, film, painting, sculpture, building, or other work of art. Put yourself in the picture and fashion your essay around an actual autobiographical encounter with—and most importantly, your emotional response to—this work of art. Along with your submission, include a one-line writers’ bio and your current mailing address. Please also submit an image of or link to the artwork you are discussing. (Please note that the artwork will only be reproduced on our website if we are able to secure permission from the copyright holder.)

If your work is accepted for publication, you will receive a one-year subscription to NER (or a subscription renewal for current subscribers) plus a payment of $50.

We are looking for striking artwork in any genre (painting, photo, sculpture, etc.) that will reproduce well as cover art. We strongly favor abstraction. The cover will be printed in full-color, full bleed, with the magazine’s logo in overprint and will be reproduced on the magazine’s website and electronic publications. The size of the printed cover is 9.75 by 6.75 inches, so the image may need to be adjusted to fit the trim size. If your work is selected for use on our cover, we will ask you to grant us one-time use of your image. You will also need to provide a high-resolution scan of the artwork (300 dpi), at least 10 by 7 inches, for print-quality reproduction.

When submitting images, please include a cover letter that states the title, date, size, and materials used in the images. You can submit up to four images at a time. Feel free to provide any other information about your artwork as well. Low-res images are acceptable for submissions, as long as high-res images can be provided when necessary.

We are building a digital portfolio of artwork to accompany both the content that we reproduce online from our print magazine and to accompany our ongoing digital series. We'd welcome the chance to include your work in an active pool of talented artists from which we regularly choose images. 

We favor abstraction over illustration, but we are interested in artwork from all media that will reproduce well online. The image may be used in its entirety, or a detail may be selected.
 
If your work is chosen for publication we will ask you to grant us the right to post the image on our website, as well as in social media promotions. We will acknowledge your name and title of the work when it is posted, and if appropriate include a link for further information about your work. In addition, you will receive a copy of the current issue of New England Review

Please visit us at www.nereview.com to see some samples of images used on our website.

New England Review is assembling a special section on new writing from Cuba, in English translation, for an upcoming issue. We are looking for poetry, fiction, and essays, with a preference for works by authors currently living in Cuba. Acceptable length is one page to 8,000 words for prose, or up to six poems.

Works can be submitted by translators or writers. Before submitting, translators should first determine whether English-language rights are available for first serial U.S. and electronic publication. We will not be able to consider writing not already translated into English.

We will begin reviewing submissions in September 2018, but works can be submitted from now until March 1, 2019.


New England Review